Kirjat Greene Graham

Graham Greene
2.10.1904 (UK) - 3.4.1991 (Sveitsi)


Babbling April (1925)
A Quick Look Behind (1983)


The Man Within (1929)
The Name of Action (1930) (repudiated by author, never re-published)
Rumour at Nightfall (1931) (repudiated by author, never re-published)
Stamboul Train (1932) (also published as Orient Express)
It's a Battlefield (1934)
England Made Me (1935) (also published as The Shipwrecked)
A Gun for Sale (1936) (also published as This Gun for Hire)
Brighton Rock (1938)
The Confidential Agent (1939)
The Power and the Glory (1940) (also published as The Labyrinthine Ways)
The Ministry of Fear (1943)
The Heart of the Matter (1948)
The Third Man (1949) (novella, as a basis for the screenplay)
The End of the Affair (1951)
The Quiet American (1955)
Loser Takes All (1955)
Our Man in Havana (1958)
A Burnt-Out Case (1960)
The Comedians (1966)
Travels with My Aunt (1969)
The Honorary Consul (1973)
The Human Factor (1978)
Doctor Fischer of Geneva or The Bomb Party (1980)
Monsignor Quixote (1982)
The Tenth Man (1985)
The Captain and the Enemy (1988)
No Man's Land (2005) (a film story, posthumously published with an incomplete film story, The Stranger's Hand)


A Sort of Life (1971)
Ways of Escape (1980)
Getting to Know the General: The Story of an Involvement (1984)
A World of My Own: A Dream Diary (1992)

Travel books

Journey Without Maps (1936)
The Lawless Roads (1939) (also published as Another Mexico)
In Search of a Character: Two African Journals (1961)
A Weed Among the Flowers (1990)


The Great Jowett (1939) [radio play]
The Living Room (1953)
The Potting Shed (1957)
The Complaisant Lover (1959)
Carving a Statue (1964)
The Return of A.J.Raffles (1975)
Yes and No (1980)
For Whom the Bell Chimes (1980)


The Future's in the Air (1937)
The New Britain (1940)
21 Days (1940) (based on the novel The First and The Last by John Galsworthy)
Brighton Rock (1947)
The Fallen Idol (1948)
The Third Man (1949)
Loser Takes All (1956)
Saint Joan (1957) (based on the play by George Bernard Shaw)
Our Man in Havana (1959)
The Comedians (1967)

Short stories

The Bear Fell Free (1935)[1]
Twenty-One Stories (1954) (originally "Nineteen Stories" [1947], the collection usually presents the stories in reverse chronological order)

"The End of the Party" (1929)
"The Second Death" (1929)
"Proof Positive" (1930)
"I Spy" (1930)
"A Day Saved" (1935)
"Jubilee" (1936)
"Brother" (1936)
"A Chance For Mr Lever" (1936)
"The Basement Room" (1936) (adapted by the author as The Fallen Idol, a film directed by Carol Reed)
"The Innocent" (1937)
"A Drive in the Country" (1937)
"Across the Bridge" (1938)
"A Little Place Off the Edgware Road" (1939)
"The Case for the Defence" (1939)
"Alas, Poor Maling" (1940)
"Men at Work" (1940)
"When Greek Meets Greek" (1941) (elsewhere retitled "Her Uncle Versus His Father")
"The Hint of an Explanation" (1948)
"The Blue Film" (1954)
"Special Duties" (1954)
"The Destructors" (1954)

A Sense of Reality (1963)

"Under the Garden"
"A Visit to Morin"
"Dream of a Strange Land"
"A Discovery in the Woods"

May We Borrow Your Husband? (1967)

"May We Borrow Your Husband?"
"Chagrin in Three Parts"
"The Over-night Bag"
"Cheap in August"
"A Shocking Accident"
"The Invisible Japanese Gentlemen"
"Awful When You Think of It"
"Doctor Crombie"
"The Root of All Evil"
"Two Gentle People"

The Last Word and Other Stories (1990)

"The Last Word"
"The News in English"
"The Moment of Truth"
"The Man Who Stole the Eiffel Tower"
"The Lieutenant Died Last"
"A Branch of the Service"
"An Old Man's Memory"
"The Lottery Ticket"
"The New House"
"Work Not in Progress"
"Murder for the Wrong Reason"
"An Appointment With the General"

Newly Collected Stories for "The Complete Short Stories" (2005)

"The Blessing" (1966)
"Church Militant" (1956)
"Dear Dr Falkenheim" (1963)
"The Other Side of the Border" (1936 unfinished novel[2]) originally published in "Nineteen stories" [1947]

Children's books

The Little Train (1946, illus. Dorothy Craigie; 1973, illus. Edward Ardizzone)
The Little Fire Engine (1950, illus. Dorothy Craigie; 1973, illus. Edward Ardizzone)
The Little Horse Bus (1952, illus. Dorothy Craigie; 1974, illus. Edward Ardizzone)
The Little Steamroller (1955, illus. Dorothy Craigie; 1974, illus. Edward Ardizzone)


The Old School: Essays by Divers Hands (ed. Greene, 1934)[3]
British Dramatists (1942)
Why Do I Write? An Exchange of Views between Elizabeth Bowen, Graham Greene and V.S. Pritchett (1948)[4]
The Lost Childhood and Other Essays (1951)
The Spy's Bedside Book (ed. with Hugh Greene, 1957)
Introduction to My Silent War, by Kim Philby, 1968, British Intelligence double agent, mole for Soviets
Collected Essays (1969)
Lord Rochester's Monkey: Being the Life of John Wilmot, Second Earl of Rochester (1974)
An Impossible Woman: The Memories of Dottoressa Moor of Capri (ed. Greene, 1975)
The Pleasure-Dome: The Collected Film Criticism, 1935–40 (ed. John Russell Taylor, 1980)
J'Accuse: The Dark Side of Nice (1982)
Yours, etc.: Letters to the Press (1989)
Why the Epigraph? (1989)
Reflections (1991)
The Graham Greene Film Reader: Reviews, Essays, Interviews and Film Stories (ed. David Parkinson, 1993)
Articles of Faith: The Collected Tablet Journalism of Graham Greene (ed. Ian Thomson, 2006)
Graham Greene: A Life in Letters (ed. Richard Greene, 2007)

Lehden nimi
1950 Greene Graham Kolmas Mies
1983 Greene Graham Nizzan Pimeä Puoli